The award was founded in 1957 and is named for Rabbi Stephen Wise (1874-1949), a prominent religious leader and early champion for social justice and civil rights. Each year this award recognizes graduating seniors “who have greatly strengthened relationships among faith communities by their character, personality and leadership.” 

2022 Recipients

Sarah Beth Gleeson – selected for her investment in interfaith projects on campus and also for her dedication to caring for her fellow students. 

Kamal Suleiman – selected for his dedication to the iBelieve interfaith course and his investment in Penn’s Muslim community.

Previous Recipients

2021 Cassandra Jobman
2020 Catherine Campbell
2020 Jackson Foltz
2020 Tafshena Khan
2019 Zuhaib Badami
2019 Elana Burack
2019 Aliya Farmanali
2018 Nayab Khan
2018 Madeline Gelfand
2017 Sophie Beren
2017 Gautam Nagaraj
2017 Chaz Smith
2017 Eric Tepper
2016 Aliza Caplan
2016 Andrea Muglia
2016 Aardra Rajendran
2015 Shira Papir
2015 Hanna Elmongy
2014 Anna Maria Garuccio
2014 Julie Berez
2014 Muhga Eltigani
2013 Alexandra Fuchs
2013 Sean Nadel
2013 Mohammed Hussain
2012 Maria Bellantoni
2011 Roxana Sahar Moussavian
2011 Ariel Benjamin Fisher